Echoing Footsteps Suspended

Friends,

I’m sure you’re aware that Echoing Footsteps has been inactive for some time. Since the end of my 100 Days Series, Echoing Footsteps has lost focus and I’ve lost inspiration. I will be able to better look to the future, and potentially pursue a new writing venture, if I officially suspend my blog for the foreseeable future.

All my posts will remain visible, in hopes that they will encourage others.

If and when changes come, I’ll be sure to post here and let you all know.

My readers have been an encouragement to me in dark times, and for this I am very grateful. I look forward to being in touch with you all again.

To close, here is the quote that started it all:

“A wonderful corner for echoes, it has been remarked, that corner where the Doctor lived. Ever busily winding the golden thread which bound her husband, and her father, and herself, and her old directress and companion, in a life of quiet bliss, Lucie sat in the still house in the tranquilly resounding corner, listening to the echoing footsteps of years.”

And it’s companion, that brings the blog full circle.

“Even when there were sounds of sorrow among the rest, they were not harsh nor cruel. Even when golden hair, like her own, lay in a halo on a pillow round the worn face of a little boy, and he said, with a radiant smile, “Dear papa and mamma, I am very sorry to leave you both, and to leave my pretty sister; but I am called, and I must go!” those were not tears all of agony that wetted his young mother’s cheek, as the spirit departed from her embrace that had been entrusted to it. Suffer them and forbid them not. They see my Father’s face. O Father, blessed words!

Thus, the rustling of an Angel’s wings got blended with the other echoes, and they were not wholly of earth, but had in them that breath of Heaven. Sighs of the winds that blew over a little garden-tomb were mingled with them also, and both were audible to Lucie, in a hushed murmur–like the breathing of a summer sea asleep upon a sandy shore…”

 

~A Tale of Two Cities, Dickens (Volume 2, Chapter 21)

Would love to hear your thoughts!

