Quilting Weekend

As some of you know, I’ve used quilting as a creative outlet for grief since William diet. Check out my Projects Page to see the variety of ways that outlet has expressed itself. My sweet Aunt has been quilting over 30 years, and she’s mentored me when we have the chance to visit. My mom is also a quilter, and had the joy (translate, nightmare) of squaring my first ever quilt blocks on my William’s Ninepatch. Between my mom and my aunt, they’ve kept me well supplied with patterns, notions and good advice.

This weekend, as my Aunt was visiting from out west, we took a gals’ trip – including my dear friend Roxanne – to the National Quilt Association show in Columbus, Ohio. We picked up some goodies, and saw all the beautiful quilts. While I couldn’t take pictures of the incredible creations in the Winner’s Circle, here are pictures of a few of my favorites from around the show.

This was a sweet pink, green and yellow crib quilt with appliqued cherries

This was a sweet pink, green and yellow crib quilt with appliqued cherries

Triangles

I adore two-color quilts in blue and white.

I adore two-color quilts in blue and white.

Another quilting bucket list: Baltimore Album.

Another quilting bucket list: Baltimore Album.

I loved the use of color and line in this quilt.

I loved the use of color and line in this quilt.

On my quilting-bucket list - based on the squares in the book Civil War Love Letters, and pieced in reproduction civil war fabrics.

On my quilting-bucket list – based on the squares in the book Civil War Love Letters, and pieced in reproduction civil war fabrics.

Loved the colors in this pinwheel star quilt

Loved the colors in this pinwheel star quilt

10,509 1-inch hexagons, all hand pieced. The piecing took 16 months.

10,509 1-inch hexagons, all hand pieced. The piecing took 16 months.

Sashed dresden plate in 1930s reproduction fabrics

Sashed dresden plate in 1930s reproduction fabrics

 

The four of us had a great time. I rounded out my weekend with a bit more quilt shopping, a chocolate malt and a crash course in quilt drafting. Do I need more sleep, now? Yes! Was it worth it? Absolutely.

Would love to hear your thoughts!

