Around the House: Elbow-Deep in Cleaning

The footsteps haven’t been echoing so loudly this week, as I’m elbow-deep in cleaning the house. Really cleaning – and while I’m exhausted after two full days and the feeling that there is no end in sight, I smiled when I opened my organized closet this morning.

Here are the things I’ve accomplished in the past couple of days:

  • Washed indoor windows in the master, the guest room and the bathroom (its been rainy here, so no outside of the windows yet)
  • Washed curtains, including the shower curtains
  • Washed baseboards in the master, guest room, bathroom and hallway
  • Swept under all the furniture
  • Cleaned out and organized the closets and dressers and drawers in the master, guest room and bathroom
  • Picked up and “general” cleaned (vacuuming, dusting, etc…) the whole house

Here’s what I have left

  • The entire kitchen – cupboards, fridge, drawers, oven, etc…. This may not happen until next week, because its a big job
  • Windows and baseboards in the living room and dining room
  • Vacuum under all the furniture in the living room and sunroom
  • Organize and clean out the sunroom, including the home office space – this is at least a full day job
  • Cleaning the hardwood floors (bedrooms, hallway & dining room)

I figure I’ve got a good four or five days worth of work, and I’m grateful for a big bottle of Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day general purpose cleaner, and a bottle of vinegar.

I’ve been looking for some homemade wood floor cleaners, and here are a few recipes I’ve found. Now to decide which one to try.

From The Family Homestead:

  • 1/2 c vinegar
  • 1 gallon of water

TipNut has a bunch of recipes – here are the ones I’m considering

  • 1 gallon of warm water
  • 1/8 c mild liquid dish soap
  • 1/2 c vinegar

or

  • 1 gallon of warm water
  • 10 drops essential oil (lavender, pine or tea tree)

or

  • 1 gallon of warm water
  • 1 TBSP Dr. Bronner’s liquid soap (castille soap)
  • 1/8 c vinegar
  • 1/4 c brewed black tea (room temperature)

I’m particularly interested in this last one, as the tannins in the tea are supposed to bring the wood to a nice shine.

So you know, I have old school real wood floors, not laminate. If you’re looking for a way to naturally clean laminate floors, check out this info at Nature’s Nurture.

Have you cleaned hardwood floors naturally? What did you use?

~Amanda

4 thoughts on “Around the House: Elbow-Deep in Cleaning

  1. Amanda, Here is a thoght input on the floor cleaners. The last one is the only listed recipe that has any oil (Castile oil soap) in it. Without the oil I feel that you would unwittingly dry out your floors. The oil would help restore the natural oil in the wood and thus restore the luster of the floors. Don’t forget to leave yourself some down time also.

  2. We use a steam mop on our wood floors. When you’re done with your house, can you come and do mine? You sound much more thorough than I am!

    • I’d considered a steam mop, but hubby doesn’t want to invest in one. Looks like I’ll be doing water & vinegar for a while. Being thorough is a bit of a new adventure for me – I read a wonderful book about all sorts of home organizing and its inspired me to look out for the deep down dirt. In our old house, its definitely necessary!

Would love to hear your thoughts!

