In the Kitchen: Recipe Round Up

We’re taking off for a vacation in a few weeks, and one of the ways we like to save moneys is by getting a vacation spot where we can do our own cooking. Our cooler is small, so I don’t have room for a bunch of things out of the fridge or freezer, and I don’t want to bring my entire pantry along. While we’re traveling we’ll be compromising a bit with restaurant options like salads and grilled meats, and eggs for breakfast, but at our destination we’ll be doing mostly our own cooking.

I’ve rounded up a few recipes that ought to keep us on our diet, along with a few treats, and linked them here.

Steak on the Grill, with this Mediterranean Cucumber Tomato Mint salad and small baked potatoes.

Grilled Buttermilk Chicken with steamed, buttered green beans and a tossed salad.

Corn on the cob (my hubby’s favorite), with sliced ripe tomatoes, summer sausage and sliced raw milk cheese.

For dessert, I’d love to do a peach cobbler with vanilla ice cream. I love this recipe for soaked blackberry peach cobbler.

For breakfasts, we’ll probably stick with eggs and natural bacon. There doesn’t seem to be a Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s in the area, so we’ll be shopping at a regular grocery store and hoping for some good healthy products to be available.

In terms of packing, I’ll probably premix spices and measure out dry goods before I go. I’ll also probably throw in my bag of non-GMO multicolored popcorn, coconut oil and olive oil. I’ll probably also bring tea with me. We’re not big snackers, so aside from popcorn we probably won’t have any snacks. In terms other special treats, I will probably look for some organic cane sugar soda (like Kroger’s Simple Truth or Hansen’s), and maybe a bottle of wine.

You’ll notice I haven’t mentioned lunch. We’re planning a few day trips, so we may eat out a bit; we’re also considering making lunch our main meal and then having leftovers or popcorn for dinner. Either way, I won’t be buying extra groceries for lunch.

I pulled many of these recipes from EatNourishing.com. The site works a bit like allrecipes.com or cooks.com, where users can upload their favorite recipes, except they all have to follow real food ingredients and techniques. This is where I go when I’m looking for something new, when I’m meal planning, or when I’m looking for a way to make a favorite recipe healthy.

How do you plan for meals on vacation?

~Amanda

 

6 thoughts on “In the Kitchen: Recipe Round Up

  1. YAY for vacations! YAY for saving money on vacations! and YAY for staying healthy on vacation! 🙂

    We just got back from an (almost) week-long vacation. Since our little guy is on the GAPS diet, we have to bring his food no matter where we go. So we decided to bring all of our food as well (only we had a big enough cooler that we were able to do all the cooking at home and pack it to bring it)- That helped me because I didn’t have to do any of the cooking while there, we just heated up each meal on the stovetop (we aren’t big on microwaves)

    Hope you have a great time! Oh and I can’t wait to explore the recipe website. Always looking for good healthy recipes! Thanks for posting it!

Would love to hear your thoughts!

