The Times, They Are A’Changin’

Changes Ahead

I realize my blog has been dormant for some time. The past nine months have been a bit of a whirlwind, and you can find out why by reading William’s Story. You can expect major changes happening here on Echoing Footsteps in the coming months. Major changes in my life have led to a need for major changes in my blog.

It is my goal for this blog to become a place of blessing and encouragement for those of us striving to be Titus 2 women, as well as useful homemaking tips for women who work outside the home. I’ll also be blogging about the things that bring me joy: a good book, a piece of music, a new hobby, DIY projects and new recipes.

I was recently inspired by Tova Gold, at Finding My Muchness . You’ll hear more about my story later, but the short version is, like Tova, I’ve lost my “muchness.” I don’t care so much for that term; I’m not sure what it means, really. As I’ve defined it for myself, I realize that my “muchness” is comprised of all of the little things about me that, added all up, make me, well… me.

My love of Dickens. My adoration of Beethoven. The way my toes tap to an Irish folk dance and a tiny rosebud brings tears to my eyes. That refreshed, calm feeling I get after vacuuming my living room, or the giddiness that comes when I pull a freshly baked homemade pie out of the oven. The thrill of taking bits of fabric and sewing them together to make a stunning pattern.

All of these things, and a hundred more piling up into a definition of who God has created me to be.

I’ll still be chronicling my adventures in literature and sharing my adventures in the kitchen. You’ll also see my DIY projects, the advances I’m making in setting up my home, the hard (sloooooow) work we’re doing on our landscaping and vegetable garden, cleaning tips, home organization and management and lots of adventures into my newest beloved hobby – hand piecing and hand quilting. I’ll also be taking one day a week to reflect on what God is teaching me in my times with Him. I’m on a quest to find those things which bring joy and peace to my life, and will bring joy and peace to those around me.

I’d be honored if you’d pray for me and with me as I take the time and energy to reestablish Echoing Footsteps. Pray that it will be a place of encouragement, not just to me, but to those who read what I have to share. Pray that God will use it as He wills, in shaping my life and the lives of my readers. Pray that I will remain faithful to this calling, as I add it to all of the responsibilities I have in my life as a wife, daughter, sister, church member, friend, fundraiser, and classical musician (to name a few!)

I’m looking forward to being on this journey with anyone who cares to join me.

Blessings,

Amanda

 

I’m linked up with Simply Lives Thursday at GNOWFGLINS

4 thoughts on “The Times, They Are A’Changin’

  1. Amanda thanks for sharing your link on FB. I am certainly looking forward to reading your blog. I struggle daily with being the wife that God has called me to be (not that I don’t enjoy it, but I struggle with not measuring up to the great examples in the bible.) so I really look forward to your thoughts/experiences in this area.

    As for the DIY projects, my hubby always reminds me, “it has to look bad before it looks better” (generally said during major remodels that are taking FOREVER) 🙂

    • Thanks for your comment, Kelly. Learning to be the wife I’ve been called to be, along with all the other hats I have to wear, is not going to be easy. I get so wrapped up in being a “performer” – if I can act like a good wife, that must mean I am one – while it really is about the attitude of the heart. I’m glad you’ll be along on the journey with me.

      I love the way your husband thinks! We aren’t in for many big projects just yet, but there will plenty of home decor ideas, and hopefully I’ll be starting into sanding down kitchen cabinets in the next few months.

Would love to hear your thoughts!

