Meal Plan Mondays 10.10.11

Happy Monday morning! Welcome to another edition of Meal Plan Mondays, part of the Plan It – Don’t Panic Meal Planning Challenge sponsored by my friends at Keeper of the Home.

Last week I mentioned that we intended to start Phase 1 of The Maker’s Diet on Wednesday, after the hubby’s birthday celebration. Weeeellll… we didn’t quite do exactly that. Leftover pork loin and birthday cake got us off to a slow start. After further discussion we’ve decided to make the following allowances to Phase 1 (which hubby has affectionately named Phase 1.5):

  1. We will allow ourselves pork. We feel that if we are eating pork from local farmers, fed with appropriate foods, we don’t need to worry about some of the health concerns Rubin mentions in his book. We also feel that adhering to Old Covenant dietary laws is unnecessary, given how Paul and Peter both address the issue. I’m aware there are a number of arguments for and against maintaining Old Covenant dietary laws, but I think Peter & Paul both make it clear that it isn’t a salvation factor, and my husband and I feel free to consume pork (and shellfish for me) occasionally.
  2. We will allow ourselves dairy products; I’m trying to go with raw or cultured and full-fat dairy only. First and foremost, we have no desire to let our herd share go to waste. We can’t simply stop buying milk for a few weeks. I did pick up some goat’s milk yogurt this week, but unless we get our own goat, this kind of food will have to remain a rare treat. Buying only goat’s milk or sheep’s milk products isn’t a smart budgetary move given that we plan to maintain this diet at least a month, and probably until the holidays when we’ll be forced to relax somewhat.
  3. Finally, we’ve opted to not take the partial fast days. Both of us struggle with low blood sugar levels when we don’t eat, making us irritable, lightheaded, and headachy. We also put in very long days without the option of resting more on a particular day of the week (yes – even Sundays, when we both have service responsibilities at church, and our evenings are frequently booked). Perhaps if we stay on this diet for a while those issues will level out and we’ll consider a fast day once a week.

Here are a few other things on Phase 1.5 you may be interested to know:

  1. No grains (none, zero, zip, zilch, da nada). Lentils are permitted
  2. Fruits are limited to berries of all kinds, grapefruit, cherries, lemons & limes.
  3. No corn. No potatoes. No sweet potatoes.
  4. 1 TBSP or less of honey daily. No other sweeteners.
  5. Minimally processed foods (I purchase organic mustard, pasta sauce & salsa without sugar or preservatives, and am trying to find a mayo that doesn’t use soybean, canola or safflower oil)

These are the rules that I’m trying to use to frame my meal plans for the week. And now, without further ado:

Sunday
 
Breakfast: Fried Eggs & Yogurt Berry Smoothies
Lunch: Sabbath Rest – lunch out
Dinner: Baked chicken, tomato wedges, cheese slices & buttered peas
 
Monday
Breakfast: Scrambled eggs with Feta & Seven Sons Farms Sausage
Lunch: Lentil Soup with Greens
Dinner: Pan-seared salmon, tangy coleslaw & yellow squash and zucchini sauteed with garlic and coconut oil
 
Tuesday
Breakfast: Yogurt and Grapefruit
Lunch: Lentil Soup with Greens
Dinner: Spaghetti Squash with Meat Sauce
 
Wednesday
Breakfast: Scrambled Eggs and Seven Sons Farms Sausage 
Lunch: Lentil Soup with Greens
Dinner: Baked Chicken, Coleslaw and Mashed Acorn Squash
 
Thursday
Breakfast: Fried Eggs & Yogurt Berry Smoothies
Lunch: Tuna Salad, Fresh Veggies & Grapefruit
Dinner: Seven Sons Farm Brats, Root Veggie Fries and Steamed Broccoli
 
Friday
Breakfast: Yogurt and Grapefruit
Lunch: Crockpot Chili
Dinner: Steak, Steamed Broccoli & Sauteed Yellow Squash & Zucchini
 
Saturday
Breakfast: Scrambled Eggs with Feta and Yogurt with Berries
Lunch: Crockpot Chili
Dinner: Leftovers

Hope to see you back here in a couple of days after I finish  reading Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace Revisited

~Amanda

This blog is linked with the following:

4 thoughts on “Meal Plan Mondays 10.10.11

    • Anne – thanks for the encouragement. My husband grew up in South America, and pork is a very common meal there – asking him to sacrifice rice & potatoes was hard enough. Keeping the pork is a great compromise and gives us some variety, which I really need. Welcome to Echoing Footsteps!

  1. I think your revisions are more than reasonable. Maker’s Diet is so great but everyone needs to tweak it a bit to fit their personal needs. I really love the fast days (AFTER THEY ARE OVER) but dread them coming… this is funny, too, because Greg and I are doing it again when I get back next week. He doesn’t know it yet… better to spring it on him 😉 I know I will be making revisions of my own in the baking department….. better start planning now.

    • Anna – you’re right. Finding the balance in any diet is really important.

      How are you making revisions in the baking department!? That’s my greatest stumbling block – if I bake something it just sits in my kitchen (or the office kitchen, or the freezer… or wherever I try to hide it to forget about it) and it calls me until I have to eat the whole thing – so I can “get it out of the house”

      You must have more will power than I do!

Would love to hear your thoughts!

