Soaked Buckwheat Pancakes

This post is linked with Kelly the Kitchen Cop’s Real Food Wednesday

One of the most challenging parts of eating whole foods and real foods is finding a way to continue enjoying some particular favorites, without having disastrous results. By disastrous I mean things like a coup d’etat in your digestive system, a horrible sugar high proceeded by a nasty crash, the return of aching joints and muscles, or a new population of “bumps” on your face.

When I find something that lets me feel good about what I’m cooking and eating, that doesn’t break my budget, and that reminds me of how tasty real food can be – I feel a celebration is in order. As a part of that celebration, I’m sharing with you today my recipe for Soaked Buckwheat Pancakes.

Buckwheat Fields, credit to kretchmannfarm.com

I could launch into a long diatribe on why buckwheat is good for you (it is), but I’ll leave you with this. Buckwheat is not actually a grain. Buckwheat is the seed of a flower, and is related to rhubarb and sorrel. Its great for people with gluten allergies or sensitivities, and has been linked to lowering risk factors for things like high cholesterol and high blood pressure. Its also high in manganese and magnesium. For a full profile, check out World’s Healthiest Foods.

P.S.  All of those good things said, obviously eating too much of any one thing isn’t good for you – your diet should still heavily favor pasture-raised meats and dairy products, health fats like coconut oil, butter and pastured lard, and plenty of farm-fresh produce. And be careful because most of us want sugar added to our pancakes and hot breakfast cereals – and although things like raw honey and real maple syrup have some nutritional value, they’re still sugary. Use them sparingly!

This morning breakfast consisted of a glass of real, raw milk, these delicious buckwheat pancakes with real butter and real maple syrup, and a couple pieces of nitrite/nitrate-free bacon. MMm MMm!

Like most real foods, these are not impulse-pancakes. You can’t just wake up on Saturday morning and decide you want them – the flour needs to soak in buttermilk 12-24 hours. Plan ahead! As a mild disclaimer, anyone who knows me knows I don’t invent my own recipes. I’ve adapted this recipe from one of the myriad of cookbooks, websites and magazines I’ve perused over the past year. My apologies to whomever isn’t getting credit for most of the hard work.

So these aren't mine - but they look like mine! credit to northwestsourdough.com

Soaked Buckwheat Pancakes

  • 2 cups organic buckwheat flour (I like Arrowhead Mills)
  • 2 cups full-fat buttermilk
  • 2 pasture-raised, free-range eggs
  • 2 TBSP raw, unfiltered honey
  • 1/2 tsp Real sea salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 TBSP coconut oil
Combine the flour and buttermilk in a glass bowl until well blended. Cover loosely with a towel and allow to soak 12-24 hours. 
When you are read to prepare your pancakes, heat a griddle or well-seasoned cast iron skilled to medium high heat.
Lightly beat the eggs and add to the soaked flour mixture. Add remaining ingredients and mix until well incorporated. If the batter is too thick (mine never is), thin with a little filtered water to desired consistence.
Oil or butter the griddle or skillet, and cook as you would normal pancakes.
This batch made me approximately 20 3″ pancakes. There are only two of us, so I keep my leftovers in the fridge, and will heat them in the morning in the toaster and possibly make a sandwich with fried eggs.
This blog is linked up with Simple Lives Thursday at GNOWFGLINS and Fat Tuesday at Real Food Forager. You’ll also find me a Food Renegade’s Fight Back Friday – check out the blog carnival for more great ideas!
14 thoughts on “Soaked Buckwheat Pancakes

    • Thanks for sharing that recipe!

      I didn’t know there were different kinds of buckwheat flour – I use Arrow Mills organic, which I’ve only found in one type. One certainly can’t make these expecting Bisquik flavor – but I’ve found if I stick to a real foods diet, the deep buckwheat flavor is really satisfying.

  1. Hi. I’d like to make this recupe. I have sprouted buckwheat flour at home – do I still need to soak the flour? If I don’t, I’m concerned that the texture won’t be the same. Should I add the milk to the flour and let it soak for just 15 min or so?

    Also, as I don’t have buttermilk, may I simply use the raw goat milk that I have on hand? Would appreciate your advice. Thanks!

    • Hi, Pamela, I’ve never used sprouted buckwheat flour, so I’m not really sure how to advise you on it. Certainly the soaking process is breaking down anti-nutrients so the buckwheat is more easily digested. If there is also a culinary reason, I’m afraid I’m ignorant of it. Perhaps try splitting the recipe in half and soaking one overnight and the other for a short time – trial and error is how I would figure it out!

      That said, to don’t believe it is EVER recommended to soak in raw dairy. Because buttermilk is cultured it will break down the anti-nutrients without spoiling on your counter. Without those cultures, I’d be afraid you could make yourself sick! There are some resources online to learn how to make your own buttermilk. That is what I would suggest. Check out this link from Food Renegade’s site: http://www.foodrenegade.com/how-to-make-buttermilk/

      Good luck!

  2. Amanda these look good – I miss the NT sourdough pancakes since becoming gluten free. I will most definitely have to try these! I am linking this recipe in my upcoming post, ’40 Healthy Breakfast Ideas’ Thanks for sharing this recipe!

  3. I have been grain-free for several weeks, but decided to give these a try since the soaking process makes it easier to digest (and I was itching to try out my new grain mill). I have to say, I really enjoyed them! I melted a bit of cheese on the top and added organic chicken sausage to make a “wrap” for breakfast. It was wonderfully tasty AND kept me fueled all morning (which is rare for me). Thanks!

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed them! I like the idea of the cheese & sausage – never would have thought of it, because pancakes are always a sweet treat in our house. I’ll have to give that a try, maybe this weekend. Yum!

      thanks for sharing!

  4. Pingback: Buckwheat Coffee Cake « Bread is Best

  5. I feel that is one of the so much significant
    information for me. And i am glad reading your article.
    However wanna observation on few normal issues, The web site taste is ideal,
    the articles is really nice : D. Excellent task,
    cheers

Would love to hear your thoughts!

