Super Bowl, Health Food Style

While I am slowly making my way through Tess of the D’Ubervilles (albeit, too slowly), I’m finding myself making headway in my other 2011 goals. One of them, previously mentioned, is to make at least 25 new recipes throughout the course of the year. I headed to my Joy Of Cooking book looking for something to take to a Super Bowl party that was both healthy and affordable to make. I hit the jackpot with this recipe, as I had the entirety of the brief ingredient list in my cupboard.

Here is my recipe for Tuscan White Bean Dip.

  • 3 cups cooked white beans, or 2 cans of white beans
  • 1/4 c olive oil
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • dried rosemary
  • white pepper
  • salt

I had only dried beans in my cupboard, so I soaked them overnight in water, drained them, and boiled them with bay leaves for an hour and a half to two hours. I learned the hard way that beans will increase by 100% – 150% from their dried state to their soaked and cooked state. If you want three cups, use approximately 1 1/2 cups of dried beans.

Drain the cooked beans and allow to cool slightly. In a small saucepan heat the olive oil over medium heat. When it is hot, add your garlic, and seasonings to taste. Be sure to use plenty!

Cook, stirring, for five minutes. Add the olive oil mixture to the beans. If the beans are really soft, you won’t have any problem mashing them by hand. If you want a really creamy texture, pop them into your blender or food processor. Once you have the desired consistency, adjust salt and pepper to taste. Just before serving, drizzle the top with extra virgin olive oil.

I served mine with blue tortilla chips, but this would be great with pita bread, pita chips, or any durable cracker. I felt that the only thing that could have improved this dish was to top it with finely chopped fresh tomatoes.

Here’s to guilt free partying!

Would love to hear your thoughts!

