My Bookish To-Do List

One of my favorite things about a new year is feeling like I can create some new project to accomplish. I think perhaps this time I’ve bitten off more than I can chew, but we’ll just have to wait and see. It all started with vision boarding – and if you don’t know what I mean, head on over to Balance and Blueberries and check this post out. Although not featured in any of her lovely vision-boarding photos, I was there envisioning with the best of them.

I decided one of my goals for the year was to read 25 new novels. Sounds feasible, right? That’s only one every 2 weeks – with 2 weeks to spare! But how to decide what I should read? So I dug up the recent BBC 100 reads list which had been floating around Facebook – I was appalled to find I’d only read 47 of them. Granted, many of them range outside my literary comfort zone, but I’m in need of a good solid challenge.

So, my goal has evolved. I intend to read the remaining 53 books on this list. I think I can do it in two years – especially in that some of them are quite brief, children’s books, even. So here is my list, in no particular order.

  1. His Dark Material, Pullman
  2. Little Women, Alcott
  3. Tess of the D’Ubervilles, Hardy
  4. Catch-22, Heller
  5. Birdsong, Faulk
  6. Catcher in the Rye, Salinger
  7. War and Peace, Tolstoy
  8. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Adams
  9. Crime & Punishment, Dostoyevsky
  10. Grapes of Wrath, Steinbeck
  11. Anna Karenina, Tolstoy
  12. The Kite Runner, Hosseini
  13. Captain Corelli’s Mandolin, Bernieres
  14. One Hundred Years of Solitude, Marquez
  15. A Pray for Owen Meany, Irving
  16. The Woman in White, Collins
  17. Far from the Maddening Crowd, Hardy
  18. The Handmaid’s Tale, Atwood
  19. Life of Pi, Martel
  20. Dune, Herbert
  21. Cold Comfort Farm, Gibbons
  22. A Suitable Boy, Seth
  23. The Shadow of the Wind, Zafon
  24. the Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time, Haddon
  25. Love in the Time of Cholera, Marquez
  26. Of Mice and Men, Steinbeck
  27. Lolita, Nabokov
  28. The Secret History, Tartt
  29. The Lovely Bones, Sebold
  30. On the Road, Kerouac
  31. Jude the Obscure, Hardy
  32. Bridget Jone’s Diary, Fielding
  33. Midnight’s Children, Rushdie
  34. Moby Dick, Melville
  35. Notes from a Small Island, Bryson
  36. Ulysses, Joyce
  37. Swallows and Amazons, Ransome
  38. Germinal, Zola
  39. Possession, Byatt
  40. Cloud Atlas, Mitchell
  41. The Color Purple, Walker
  42. The Remains of the Day, Ishiguro
  43. Madame Bovary, Flaubert
  44. A Fine Balance, Mistry
  45. The Five People You Meet in Heaven, Albom
  46. The Faraway Tree Collection, Blyton
  47. Heart of Darkness, Conrad
  48. The Little Prince, Saint-Exupery
  49. The Wasp Factory, Banks
  50. A Confederacy of Dunces, Tolle
  51. A Town Like Alice, Shute
  52. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Dahl
  53. The Bell Jar, Plath
2 thoughts on “My Bookish To-Do List

  1. Pingback: Meringues | Echoing Footsteps

  2. Pingback: The Handmaid’s Tale | Echoing Footsteps

Would love to hear your thoughts!

