Its a new dawn, its a new day, its a new life….

… and I’m feelin’ good.

Well, actually, I’m feeling a little guilty. When I realized it had been over two months since I’d posted, I was more than a little ashamed. But – I do have good reason. For all the advice I’ve been given regarding never making excuses or explaining your actions – well – I just can’t help it. The reasons are just too exciting to keep to myself.

First – we bought a house! Yup – you heard me right, I’m now a homeowner. I’ve signed away the better part of my life and livelihood (and I thought grad school loans were bad). Here she is, the day after we closed. We’ve put hours of work into her already (and so have a number of our friends) and she’s finally starting to feel a little bit like home.

La Casa Zambrano

 

That’s my handsome hubby looking awkward in the driveway.

In other news, since my last post – I’ve finally finished Little Dorrit and am a good two-thirds of the way through Middlemarch. Middlemarch, however, is on the back burner until after Sunday, as I need to finish A Man for All Seasons for book club by then. I promise a full review on Little Dorrit by the end of the week.

I’ve also traveled nearly 1500 miles. We spent Thanksgiving with my family, and then journeyed half the country to spend Christmas with the hubby’s family. We had some wonderful adventures in Philadelphia over the holidays – including more Philly Cheesesteaks than should be permitted. Especially considering the whole diet thing – that sort of went out the window for the better part of the holiday season.

We were able to visit some friends in Pittsburgh during our travels. I know, I know, Philly and Pittsburgh aren’t close geographically, but we do drive through one on our way to or from the other. It was wonderful to see them and their new baby!

We spent New Years at my sister’s celebrating a belated Christmas. Here we are in our jammies!

Now that we’re home, we’re enjoying reconnecting with our friends, catching up on laundry, restocking the fridge and figuring out what needs to be done next in the house.

My favorite thing after the holidays is hearing others’ adventures! That is an experience that deserves fresh baked cookies, a pot of tea, a cozy pair of slippers and a room full of friends. Sounds like a good plan for next weekend.

Would love to hear your thoughts!

