Phase 2 and the Incredible Egg

It’s been a while since I’ve reported on our adventures in the Maker’s Diet. We’ve just started our fourth week – meaning we’re half way through phase two. That is a cause to celebrate!

Adding dairy, beans, sweet potatoes, corn, and a whole herd of fresh fruits back into our diet has simplified life significantly. We’ve had taco salad – complete with really tasty blue corn chips; Tuscan White Bean Soup – a long time favorite; and attempted our own homemade corn tortillas – let’s just say we need a little more practice! I drink whole milk, and eat whole plain yogurt with raw buckwheat honey and frozen mixed berries (yum!). Raw almond butter with apples or celery, tuna salad with canola mayo, carrots and celery, and this incredible Mediterranean egg scramble.

We were figuring our grocery budget the other day, and I looked at Dan in surprise when he told me we had more than I expected to spend. I shrugged and said “well, we don’t spend our money on anything other than bills and food, so I guess it doesn’t matter…” Its true! Our grocery budget has increased. No more $1.50 jars of peanut butter, or $0.99 boxes of noodles, 2 for $5 cheese, or 10 for $4 yogurt. Fewer $0.99 bags of frozen vegetables and no more cheap bags of white flour. So, our new hobby has become food. What can we buy cheap where: eggs at the health food store – cheapest in town. What parts of our diet can we cheat on: organic whole milk… $7.50 a gallon, really?!?!! Where can we go out with friends: Ruby Tuesday’s salad bar, here we come…. again….

We are constantly surprised by ingredient lists on the packaged items we find in the store. Yesterday, we were looking for salsa or taco sauce. In a large supermarket chain store, with a whole shelf dedicated to just this sort of thing, I think we found 2 items we could consume. Practically everything had sugar, distilled vinegar, preservatives, dextrose, xantham gum or some other bizarre chemical. I picked up sour cream – in the health food section of the store, so it was “organic” – but it was “light.” Translate that as full of chemicals and flavor enhancers. We rarely bother to look at anything in a box or can any more. I can’t believe the stuff that we used to, thoughtlessly, put into our bodies!

I discovered that my body doesn’t tolerate something we added back into our diet last week. I’m placing my bets on the cheddar cheese (we should have bought the good stuff) – I doubt its apples or whole milk. So I’ll be experimenting with that this week, before I add anything else back into our diet. Other changes I’ve noticed? Well – my pants don’t seem to be any looser (like my husband’s….) but my arms and face have slimmed down. I’m less hungry during the day, although I eat less than I used to. I need more sleep at night, but I’m generally more energetic during the day. I also haven’t had any problems sleeping, and its easier to get  up in the mornings.

All in all – seems like we have a successful experiment on our hands!

Thought I’d leave you with a recipe.

Amanda’s Mediterranean Scramble

  • 3 brown eggs, cage-free
  • 2 TBSP whole milk
  • 1 TBSP fresh minced parsley
  • 1 TBSP finely diced tomatoes
  • 1 TBSP finely shredded Havarti cheese
  • 1 TBSP finely chopped black olives
  • butter (please, oh please – no margarine)
  • sea salt & freshly ground pepper to taste
  • sour cream (none of that light stuff, friends – use the real thing! Don’t believe me? Compare the ingredients list – which would you rather fill your body with?)

Put eggs and milk in a bowl. Whisk vigorously, until the mixture begins to foam. Preheat a skillet to medium, and melt enough butter to cover the bottom of the pan. Add parsley, cheese, and salt and pepper to the eggs and whisk to combine well. Swirl the melted butter around in the skillet to entirely cover the pan. Pour the egg mixture into the pan and spread it out to cover the bottom of the pan.

Leave it set for a moment – don’t get too hasty or vigorous in the stirring, it will toughen the eggs. Once the bottom has set, gently lift the cooked eggs with a wooden spatula and distribute the uncooked portion over the bottom. Repeat until the eggs are evenly solid. While they’re still just a bit runny, add the tomatoes and olives. Gently combine the mixture to incorporate the veggies and finish cooking the eggs.

Your eggs should be light and fluffy. Put them on a plate, and top with a dollop of sour cream. YUM!

4 thoughts on “Phase 2 and the Incredible Egg

  1. So glad to hear of your good results. I knew what you would find. Isn’t it amazing how you can eat lesss yet feel fuller. Yes, things tend to be more expensive but tht because of the QUALITY of the items purchased. I also became a label reader. What I used to supplied my body with to sustain me and my health (and that most people do so without realizing or a second thought) is very scary. The whole of the American lifestyle and diet is killing us off more so than other countries. Let us keep spreading the word and not grow weary. The health of our friends and neighbors is at stake. Hal

  2. You’ll find it’s a lot cheaper to make a lot of this yourselves, and you’ll have control over what goes into it (salsa and condiments for example). We’re generally healthy eaters over at my place- I cook a lot and love veggies, and my bf is on a health kick- but I don’t usually buy organic. I find it prohibitively expensive, plus the research isn’t conclusive.

    • Thanks for the tip, Mindy! We had just finished our last jar of homemade salsa, which is why we were scanning the shelves. It was a great lesson for us, and certainly a good incentive to make more homemade!

Would love to hear your thoughts!

