A Categorical Culinary Success!

I feel like I haven’t been in the kitchen in weeks. Aside from making a summer squash sauté or a yogurt parfait – my husband has cooked meat and I’ve chopped veggies. This is not my idea of being in the kitchen. I want a recipe to follow, ingredients to combine and an end result that doesn’t necessary look like whatever ingredients with which I’ve started.

Yesterday, with the impending doom of supper looming over my head, and a beautiful butternut squash sitting on my counter pleading to be eaten, I went on a search for a recipe that was actually permissible for me to put together. I found this lovely soup recipe from Whole Foods that fit the bill perfectly.

Butternut Squash Soup

2 TBSP olive oil (strike that – I used 2 TBSP coconut oil, as per diet guidelines regarding cooking with oil)

1 medium-large carrot, diced (about 2/3 cup)

1 large celery stalk, diced (about 1/2 cup)

1 medium onion, diced (ok, ok – strike that, too – the hubby doesn’t eat onions, so I substituted about 1/2 TBSP minced garlic)

1 tsp fresh minced thyme (strike three – I didn’t have fresh – I used a couple of pinches of dried)

1 medium butternut squash, peeled and cubed (about 4 cups)

4-6 cups low sodium chicken broth

sea salt & pepper to taste

Heat the oil in the bottom of a large soup pot. Add celery, carrots and onion (or garlic). Cook until the veggies grow soft – about 3-4 minutes. Add squash and thyme, and stir to combine well. Add chicken broth, salt and pepper, cover, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer until the squash is soft, about 30 minutes. Puree with an immersion blender until the chunks are gone and serve warm.

I added a couple spoonfuls of goat’s milk yogurt to increase the creaminess and give it just a touch of bite. It was exactly what the doctor ordered. Rich and filling and really tasty!

As a side note, if you don’t have an immersion blender and you spend much time in the kitchen – get one! I received on as a wedding shower gift from my aunt and I love it! No messy transferring hot soup from pan to blender and back again in small batches, no fussing cleaning an unwieldy appliance, no shooting butternut squash onto your walls or ceilings. Just plug it in, stick it in your pot and go to town. When you’re done, the blending stick pops off for easy washing.

No more shying away from creamy soup recipes for me!

Blessings & Good Reads!

Amanda

2 thoughts on “A Categorical Culinary Success!

  1. Nothing more enjoyable and rewarding then being in the kitchen (when you are in the mood to do so) trying new things and getting good results. By simply substitutions any recipe can be made into a healthy food choice.

    How does my immersion blender come apart? I got mine at a garage sale without instructions. I usually run it in a bowl of water for cleaning. Was never quite convinced that was the correct way. Yes, they are indispensible.

    • My immersion blender has a release button on it – kind of like a handheld mixer does. Without seeing your model, I don’t know how it comes apart, but look for a release button and see if that helps!

Would love to hear your thoughts!

