Up and Coming Events

I started my blog in the effort to have an outlet for sharing about the great books I read and to start honing my writing skills.  With my job as the administrator of a music festival, however, I haven’t exactly had much time to pour over a new book in the past few weeks. But now, with the promise of vacation looming on the horizon, and my schedule settling back to a regular nine-to-five, it looks like I may actually have a few things to say in the upcoming weeks.

Here are a few books you can expect to see in the near future:

1. Cast of Characters, Max Lucado. As part of an agreement with BookSneeze, I’ll be reading this book by contemporary Christian author Max Lucado. I’m looking forward to new insights into some well-known Bible characters, and Lucado’s heart-warming and inspiring style.

2. Little Dorrit, by Charles Dickens. I am maybe a quarter of the way through this, and am already in love with sweet Amy Dorrit. The story is rooted in Dickens’ own childhood experiences in debtor’s prison and is full of his usual cast of caricature-like characters. I’m an avid Dickens reader, having made my way through A Tale of Two Cities, Great Expectations, Oliver Twist, A Christmas Carol, Bleak House and Nicholas Nickleby, so there is little surprise in Little Dorrit’s style. However, reading Dickens feels like coming home to me, so I’m anxious to get back in the pages!

3. The Maker’s Diet, by Jordan Rubin. I’ve read this one before, but I think that I’m actually going to try the 40-day challenge instead of incorporating a few of the principles into my diet. My super-supportive husband is coming along for the ride, so I hope to have great stories of cooking adventures, cravings for Taco Bell, and a big success at the end of the six weeks.

4. As the Crow Flies,  by Jeffrey Archer. This wouldn’t normally make it to my reading list, but I’ve been invited to join a book club, where each month a new member gets to select a book. In order to participate, though, I’ll need to actually read this one. Hopefully I’ll find it worth the read, as it’s sitting on my bookshelf after an impulsive Amazon purchase.

5. The Power to Prosper, by Michelle Singletary. This is another Zambrano family project. We’re looking to get ourselves into a more healthy place financially, and we’re hoping Singletary’s 21-day financial fast will be just the thing to give us some perspective and strategy. I’ll be sure to keep you updated!

There are some professional books in the hopper as well, but I’ll refrain from boring you with those. If I find any brilliant insight, I’ll be sure it finds its way here.

I’d love to hear your vacation reading plans or things you’ve been doing to get your diet rolling or your finances on track. Leave me a post!

One thought on “Up and Coming Events

  1. I enjoyed reading this. I am looking forward to hearing about these books you will be reading. I also love Dickens.

Would love to hear your thoughts!

